公司简介

 历史

当约翰·康宁翰于1968年创立康宁翰集团时,他开发了一个高度包容性的架构模型,将客户、顾问、工程师和承包商等相关方纳入其中,共创最佳设计。在约翰本人的精心指导和具有高度责任感的领导团队的领导下,康宁翰集团在过去几十年中陆续开设多家分支机构,全身心开拓业务类型,不断开发新市场领域,以满足来自当地、地区、美国甚至国际客户的日益增长的需求。

市场

康宁翰集团内部细分为多个专业化市场小组,为客户配备高度负责的专业服务团队,全力满足每个项目和市场的独特需求。在所有设计项目中,我们都强调跨界效应的价值。我们相信,每个项目都将激发未来项目的设计灵感,帮助我们创造更加全面的设计方案,建设更加健康的社区。

住宅
康宁翰集团提供精心设计的生活方式体验,满足开发商的不同需求。我们的设计吸引了众多追求生活配套更加丰富的租户,同时也吸引了大批立志打造美观而创新的新型房产的社区。

学校
通过研究实体环境与学生学习方式之间的关系,我们为客户提供宝贵的意见,帮助他们了解21世纪的学校设计之道,最好地促进学生的学习。

宗教场所
我们在设计中发现,除举办传统宗教仪式、学会谦卑之道、探求人生力量、寻求生活灵感外,这些设施也是社区活动和教育的中心场所。

工作场所
目前,工作场所环境的演化速度远远超过任何历史时期。各组织均希望自己的工作空间可为员工提供工作动力,提高生产力,同时促进员工之间的会面、集会、社交和放松。康宁翰集团凭借自身广泛的项目经验,并根据每个客户的独特需求,提供创新型设计方案。

医疗设施
无论是社区医疗设施、移动医疗设施还是急性医疗设施,我们都会围绕客户的关键业务指标、战略和康复使命,将设计创意融入每个医疗保健项目,优化其业务潜力。

游乐场所
康宁翰集团在其娱乐和休闲项目中所体现的设计经验在业界几乎是无人可及的。我们深谙用于玩耍、住宿、购物和用餐等浸入式空间的设计之道,实现员工和操作人员的功能性和便利性。

 设计流程

在康宁翰集团,我们相信,创意与创新是我们的核心使命;而能最好地实现这一使命的是一个涵盖所有关键相关方的合作型与包容性流程。换句话说,我们的设计模式更加强调集体合作而非个人才华,以实现超凡的空间打造。我们深信,我们设计的空间将从环境和建筑层面讲述客户自己的故事,彰显空间的体验。为成功实施这一设计策略,我们坚信聆听的力量,向客户提出正确的问题以了解每个客户深藏于心的故事、愿景和目标。我们认为建筑环境可以与自然界协调一致,而美则是可持续设计中不可或缺的组成部分。我们相信新技术可以大大促进有用信息的分享,我们也相信集体经验和智慧。康宁翰集团设计流程采用整体的设计方法,巧妙地融合所有可以收集到的信息,团结各项目相关方,为客户打造真正的原创项目。

共创过程

康宁翰集团所建立的共创式“愿景和设计工作室”是一个鼓励参与、灵活、高效的设计流程,并让客户加入创意团队。首先,我们要求客户展望新的未来;然后基于一个共享愿景,让他们实时参与概念设计(三维)。

共享愿景
《愿景说明》旨在为整个设计过程提供整体指导,设定优先事项并为其优先配置资源,推动有效决策,为制定和实施设计方法奠定了一个坚实的基础。

项目经验
康宁翰集团已建立超过15个“愿景设计工作室”,以服务遍布于从缅因州到加利福尼亚州的广袤地区的、具备前瞻性思维的创新型客户。每个工作室都可以满足客户群体提出的独特需求,并在设计全过程获得客户的信任,培养与客户的信任和默契, 从而快速、精确和信心十足地推进设计项目。

伊恩斯独立学区与康宁翰集团合作编制学区设施总体规划的过程非常具有挑战性,也很有成效。他们从满墙的便条纸上专业地提炼出所需的想法和理念,并将这些想法和理念整合为一套完整和全面的规范,获得了学校董事会的快速批准。

他们的设计方法让地区行政官、校长、教师、学生和社区成员都参与其中,从各方获得完整的信息。这一积极有效的方式已沿用到本地区制定2014年债券提案的过程中。

鲍伯·塞尔维
运营主任
伊恩斯独立学区


每栋建筑讲述自己的故事

康宁翰集团奉行“每栋建筑讲述自己的故事”的设计理念,强调独一无二的设计方案,完美地实现了我们希望客户加入这一协作式、团队导向型设计流程的愿望。我们与客户合作,了解项目的愿景和它们想要讲述的故事;然后,我们的设计师从这些信息中、从每个项目用地的特征挖掘隐含的创意,为项目设计的各个层面带来灵感,从基本的建筑形式和造型以及饰面材料和颜色。这种设计方式将为客户带来独特、创新和令人难忘的设计环境和体验,使他们超越自己的竞争对手。

可持续性

我们的项目旨在从整体上改善社区和社会环境,而可持续性和绿色设计是这一核心理念的自然延伸。对我们来说,可持续性不只是一张领先能源与环境设计(LEED)要点清单;在采纳可持续性理念时,我们已经在内心产生了高度责任感,致力于在所有级别和尺度上创造更好的环境。在每个设计项目中,我们考虑的诸多因素包括:项目对业主/客户的价值、管理我们的地球及其资源、项目使用者的健康、社区的活力、以及项目可以为住户和访客带来的娱乐和学习方式等。

Find Out More

ABOUT CUNINGHAM GROUP

 HISTORY

When John Cuningham founded Cuningham Group in 1968, he developed a model of architecture that is highly inclusive and incorporates extensive client, consultant, engineer, and contractor participation. Nurtured by John and a committed team of leaders, we have expanded locations, services, and markets over the decades to meet a growing demand from respected local, regional, national, and international clients.

Markets

Cuningham Group is organized into specialized market groups to provide clients with dedicated teams of professionals focused on meeting the specific needs of each project and the marketplace. We see crossover value in all of the work we do and believe each project informs the next, leading to more comprehensive design solutions and healthier communities.

 

Live
Cuningham Group delivers well-crafted lifestyle experiences that meet developer demands. Our designs attract tenants seeking amenity-rich living and communities seeking attractive, innovative new properties.

Learn
Through our participation in research on the link between the physical environment and the way students learn, we provide our clients with valuable insights into how 21st century schools should be designed to best support student learning.

Worship
Our process recognizes that, in addition to being places to practice religious traditions and find humility, strength, and inspiration, these facilities are also a focal point for community activity and education.

Work
Today’s workplace environments are evolving faster than ever. Organizations expect work spaces to provide motivation and foster productivity while presenting opportunities to meet, gather, socialize, and relax. Cuningham Group’s broad experience informs innovative design solutions tailored to each client’s needs.

Heal
We optimize the potential of each healthcare project by aligning design creativity around our client’s key business metrics, strategies and healing mission, whether it be community-based, ambulatory, or acute care.

Play
Few teams can match the level of entertainment and leisure design experience reflected in our portfolio. We understand how to design immersive spaces where people play, stay, shop and dine, and aim to provide functionality and ease for employees and operators.

Design Process

At Cuningham Group, we believe that creativity and innovation are central to our mission, and are best served through a collaborative, inclusive process that engages each and every key stakeholder. In other words, our team leverages a model emphasizing collective rather than individual brilliance for unparalleled place making. We have a deep conviction that the places we design tell our client’s story and celebrate the experience, both environmentally and architecturally. To succeed in this approach, we depend on the power of listening and asking the right questions to reveal the inherent story of each client, in line with their vision and objectives. We know that the built environment can be created in harmony with natural systems, and, in our eyes, beauty is integral to sustainable design. We understand the power of new technology to share useful information, and in the wisdom of collective experience. The design process at Cuningham Group is holistic in approach and skillfully embraces all available information and participants to create truly original projects for our clients.

Co-Creative Process

Cuningham Group’s co-creative Visioning and Design Workshop process is an engaging, flexible, and efficient process that invites our clients to join the creative team. First, clients are asked to envision a new kind of future and then, to participate in developing a conceptual design in real time (3-D) based on a shared vision.

A Shared Vision
The purpose of a Vision Statement is to provide an overall guide for the entire process, establish priorities, align resources with priorities, and facilitate efficient decision making. Ultimately, the result is a rock solid foundation upon which to develop and implement the design approach.

Experience
Cuningham Group has facilitated more than 15 Vision-based Design Workshops for innovative, forward-thinking clients from Maine to California. Each one has been unique to the particular needs of the community, and has helped build trusting relationships throughout the design process. This fosters the kind of trust necessary to move projects forward with speed, precision, and confidence.

The experience of Eanes ISD in working with Cuningham Group to develop a facility master plan has been a challenging and rewarding experience. It was truly masterful how they took the thoughts and ideas that were literally lining the walls of a room with Post-it notes and butcher block paper and synthesized them into a cohesive and comprehensive set of parameters immediately approved by our Board.

Their approach included involvement of District administrators, principals, teachers, students, and community members for a full range of input from our stakeholders. The positive momentum is being used as the springboard for the District’s 2014 bond proposition.

Bob Cervi, Director of Maintenance and Operations
Eanes Independent School District


Every Building Tells a Story®

Our Every Building Tells a Story® philosophy emphasizes one-of-a-kind design solutions, and perfectly complements our desire to engage clients in a collaborative, team-oriented process. Together, with our clients, we aim to understand the project vision and the story they want to tell. Our designers then extract creative metaphors from that information and from the character of each site to inspire all aspects of project design, from basic forms and shapes, to finishing materials and colors. Through this approach, clients benefit from unique, innovative and memorable environments and experiences that set them apart from competition.

SUSTAINABILITY

Our projects are designed for the betterment of communities and society as a whole, and sustainability and green design are a natural extension of this core ideology. To us, sustainability is more than a checklist of LEED® points. We approach sustainability with a strong commitment to creating a better environment at all levels and scales. In each design, we consider value to the owner/client, stewardship of our planet and its resources, the wellness of those who occupy our projects, vitality of our neighborhoods, and avenues for enjoyment and learning that a project can bring to its occupants and visitors.

Find Out More